B.1 Opening and Closing Ceremonies

The opening ceremony will be held in the International Congress Center (ICC) at 10:00 on Tuesday, August 18, 1998. As part of the program, the Fields medals and the Nevanlinna prize will be awarded. The ICC seats up to 5000 people and allows a good view from all seats.

After the opening session, there will be a lunch reception at the ICC followed by addresses on the works of the Fields medalists and the Nevanlinna prize winner and the first Plenary Lecture.

The closing ceremony is scheduled for Thursday, August 27, at 15:00 in the main lecture hall (Auditorium Maximum) of the TU Berlin. The program of the closing ceremony will be announced in the Daily News.


Opening Ceremony

10:00 - 12:30 International Congress Center

W. A. Mozart, Clarinet Quintet K. 581, Movement 4

David Mumford, President of the International Mathematical Union
Martin Grötschel, President of the ICM'98 Organizing Committee
Karl-Heinz Hoffmann, President of the German Mathematical Society
Friedrich Hirzebruch, Honorary President of the ICM'98 Organizing Committee

Paul Hindemith, Clarinet Quintet Op. 30, Movement 3-5

Wilhelm Staudacher, Head of the Office of the Federal President and State Secretary
     Words of Welcome of the Federal President Roman Herzog
Jürgen Rüttgers, Federal Minister of Education, Science, Research, and Technology
Eberhard Diepgen, Governing Mayor of Berlin
Hans-Jürgen Ewers, President of the Berlin University of Technology
Hansgeorg Hauser, Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Finance
     Presentation of a Commemorative Stamp on the occasion of ICM'98

W. A. Mozart, Divertimento K. 287, Movement 6

Presentation of the Fields Medals and a Special Tribute
Yuri Manin, Chairman of the Fields Medal Committee
Presentation of the Nevanlinna Prize
David Mumford, Chairman of the Nevanlinna Prize Committee

(Music performed by soloists of the ENSEMBLE ORIOL BERLIN)

Opening Reception

12:30 - 14:30 International Congress Center

This complimentary opening reception is offered to all participants of the Opening Ceremony. A light buffet lunch and beverages are served.


14:30 - 16:00 International Congress Center

Addresses on the work of the Fields medalists and the Nevanlinna Prize winner.

Plenary Lecture

16:15 - 17:15 International Congress Center

Jürgen Moser, ETH Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland
Dynamical Systems - Past and Present
Chair: Friedrich Hirzebruch, Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik, Bonn, Germany

ICM'98 homepage

Please send suggestions and corrections to: helmberg@zib.de
Last modified: August 3, 1998